Research Induction Ceremony for PhD Candidates

Monday, September 13, 2021

Research Induction Ceremony for PhD Candidates

3:00 pm

Stephens Spine Institute, 12th Floor Auditorium (Faculty and Students only) – Virtual (All visitors)

***Due to COVID-19, only students and faculty may attend in person. Visitors must attend virtually.***

Click Here to View Video

The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Graduate School welcomes you to our Research Induction Ceremony and we appreciate you taking the opportunity to share this event with all of our doctoral candidates, mentors and faculty.

One of the hallmark achievements for students pursuing the Doctor of Philosophy degree is their recognition as a formal Ph.D. Candidate, an event marked by having successfully passed the Ph.D. qualifying exam. It represents an official transition from being predominantly enrolled in coursework to the initiation of the dissertation research. It is this point in time that they embark on a career of discovery in biomedical and health research. Those who enter into a career in research do so with the expectation of society that their work will lead to improvements in health and a better understanding of the human condition. Along with this expectation is an acute awareness that those who choose a career in research will demonstrate the highest levels of honor, integrity and ethical standards.

Candidacy also means the students have selected their mentor or major graduate advisor who will assume the mentorship role from the program’s graduate director. The mentor-mentee relationship is a mutually strong bond that often lasts a lifetime. In today’s ceremony, the mentors and program directors will present each candidate with a laboratory coat to symbolize this relationship and to celebrate the initiation of their dissertation research.

After the laboratory coat presentation, students will be asked to recite the “Affirmation of Scientists” along with all other faculty and students present who wish to participate. The affirmation publicly acknowledges the acceptance of the expected standards of honor and integrity.

The UAMS graduate faculty, comprised of faculty from the College of Medicine, College of Pharmacy, College of Nursing, College of Health Professions and the College of Public Heath are fully committed to providing the best education possible for all our students. Our hope is that the Research Induction Ceremony will serve as a memorable event to recognize the commitment to an honorable career of discovery and to commemorate the excellence of our UAMS Graduate School students, staff and faculty.

2020-2021 PhD Candidates

Cesar Compadre, Ph.D. and Mary Yang, Ph.D., Program Directors

Daniel Asare Acheampong
Dr. Intawat Nookaew

Joseph Asante
Dr. Steven W. Barger

Akshatha Ganne
Dr. Robert Reis

Nirjal Mainali
Dr. Robert J. Reis

Mathias Brochhausen, Ph.D., Program Director

Saly Abouelenein
Dr. Fred Prior

Kaleb Z. Abram
Dr. David W. Ussery

Aaron S. Kemp
Dr. Linda Larson-Prior

Michael W. Rutherford
Dr. Jonathan Bona

Mahanaz Syed
Dr. Fred Prior

Sohrab Syed
Dr. Fred Prior 

Robert McGehee, Jr., Ph.D., Program Director

Shelbie Stahr
Dr. L. Joseph Su

Lee Ann Mac-Millan-Crow, Ph.D., Program Director

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (BCMB)
Robert Eoff, Ph.D., Track Director 

Katherine Bronson
Dr. Angus MacNicol

Susie L. Brown
Dr. Samantha Kendrick

Haley M. Lowe
Dr. Kevin Raney

Xiuqi Wang
Dr. Hong-Yu Li

Cell Biology and Physiology (CBP)
Rosalia Simmen, Ph.D., Track Director

Md Mohsin Ali
Dr. Maria Almeida-Schuller

Amrita Khakurel
Dr. Vladimir Lupashin

Farhana Taher Sumya
Dr. Vladimir Lupashin

Microbiology and Immunology (MBIM)
Jon Blevins, Ph.D., Track Director

Naiha Ahmad
Dr. Jia Liu

Wes Bland
Dr. J. Craig Forrest

Michael Eledge
Dr. Karl Boehme

Maple Guo
Dr. Jon Blevins

Brandon Hogland
Dr. Jon Blevins

Miguel Mercado
Dr. Lin-Xi Li

Hayley M. Theriot
Dr. Roger Pechous

Neuroscience (NEUR)
Mark Mennemeier, Ph.D., Track Director

Jewel Banik
Dr. Angus MacNicol

Alexa C. Escapita
Dr. Tara Johnson

Dylan Gilbreath
Dr. Linda Larson-Prior

Kalee Holloway
Dr. Paul Drew

Namarta Kapil
Dr. Tara Johnson

Juchan Lim
Dr. Angus MacNicol

Pathobiology (PATH)
Tom Kelly, Ph.D., Track Director

Taylor Wadley
Dr. Intawat Nookaew

Pharmacology, Toxicology, & Experimental Therapeutics (PTET)
Paul Prather, Ph.D., Track Director

Lance N. Benson
Dr. Shengyu Mu

Brian Parks
Dr. Lisa Brents

Joel Vazquez
Dr. Mitch McGill

Alexandra Marshall, Ph.D., and Tiffany Haynes, Ph.D., Program Directors

Samjhana Shakya
Dr. Carol Cornell

Anthony Goudie, Ph.D., Program Director

Taiwo Adesoba
Dr. Anthony Goudie

Arina Eyimina
Dr. Clare Brown

Rebecca Reif Provaznik
Dr. Mick Tilford

Robert McGehee, Jr., Ph.D., and Sara Shalin, M.D., Ph.D., Program Directors

Mara J. Campbell
Dr. Mark Smeltzer

Francesca LoBianco
Dr. Nukhet Aykin-Burns

Lauren Clai Morehead
Dr. Alan Tackett and Dr. Isabelle Miousse

Ravi W. Sun
Dr. Graham Strub

Patricia Cowan, Ph.D., Program Director

Steven Chasteen
Dr. Martha Rojo

Shannon Finley
Dr. Patricia Cowan

Matthew Harmon
Dr. Sara Jones

Devin K. Terry
Dr. Sara Jones

Tammy Webb
Dr. Corey Nagel

Cheryl Wells
Dr. Martha Rojo

Jacob Painter, Pharm.D., Ph.D

Mahip Acharya
Dr. Bradley C. Martin

Mrinmayee Lakkad
Dr. Jacob T. Painter 

Antiño Allen, Ph.D., Program Director

Phuc Tran
Dr. Hong-yu Li


For questions or more information regarding this event, please contact the Graduate School at or 501.686.5454.