UAMS.EDU

Infectious Disease and Pathogenesis Track

PLEASE NOTE: THE IBS Program is no longer accepting students. Students interested in the IBS program should apply through the new Graduate Program in Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences. The Clinical and Translational Sciences track listed below has not changed.   These pages were left for those students who were accepted into the IBS program before Fall 2016.

 

Track Leader-Dr. Karl Boehme

Jon Blevins, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
jsblevins@uams.edu

Karl Boehme, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
kwboehme@uams.edu

Martin Cannon, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
Dendritic cell immunotherapy of cancer
mjcannon@uams.edu

Kathleen Eisenach, Ph.D. (Pathology)
Tuberculosis diagnostics, molecular epidemiology of TB, surrogate markers of response to TB therapy, and differential pathogenesis of clinical TB strains.
EisenachKathleenD@uams.edu

Craig Forrest, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile
JCForrest@uams.edu

Aime Franco, Ph.D. (Physiology and Biophysics) Web profile
In the Franco laboratory we are investigating the role of oncogenes, hormones and microbes in the development of cancer.
ATFranco@uams.edu

Dana Gaddy, Ph.D. (Physiology and Biophysics) Web profile 
Our laboratory focuses on the endocrine, cellular and molecular mechanisms that govern the maintenance of the musculoskeletal system, with particular focus on the normal and pathophysiological changes associated with age, disuse, menopause, and metastatic disease.
gaddydana@uams.edu

Chia Lee, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
My laboratory focuses on elucidating the regulatory mechanisms of pathogenesis inStaphylococcus aureus.
clee2@uams.edu

Jia Liu, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
jliu4@uams.edu

Usha Ponnappan, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
Our research is focused on understanding the role of ubiquitin proteasome pathway in transcriptional regulation, immune signaling and in the induction and regulation of transcription factor NF kappa B in innate and adaptive immunity. Additionally, our efforts are directed at dissecting the role of redox regulation in immune senescence and inflammation.
Uponnappan@uams.edu

Mark S. Smeltzer, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
smeltzermarks@uams.edu

Lee S.F. Soderberg, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile
Certain toxic compounds suppress immunity by modulating signal transduction and proteasome function and result in increased tumor growth.
LSSoderberg@uams.edu

Jason Stumhofer, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
jstumhofer@uams.edu

Daniel Voth, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
dvoth@uams.edu

Kevin Young, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
kdyoung@uams.edu

Xuming Zhang, Ph.D. (Microbiology and Immunology) Web profile 
To elucidate the mechanisms and regulation of coronavirus RNA synthesis, the molecular pathogenesis of coronavirus-induced neurodegenerative diseases, and virus-host cell interactions.
zhangxuming@uams.edu